Faculty in Chemical & Biological Engineering

Related Links

McCormick School of Engineering

The Graduate School

Office of the Registrar

International Office

Contact Us

Department of
Chemical and Biological Engineering

2145 Sheridan Road
Technological Institute
Room E-136
Evanston, IL 60208-1230
Phone: 847-491-7398
Fax: 847-491-3728


The Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering includes faculty members with major appointments in chemical and biological engineering as well as collaborating faculty members with major appointments in biomedical engineering, civil engineering or materials science and engineering affiliated with the department through joint or courtesy appointments. Our faculty members have been frequently recognized for their excellence in research and teaching. Among the faculty, there are National Science Foundation PYI/NYI/CAREER Award recipients, a PECASE awardee, a member of the National Academy of Engineering, and winners of numerous other awards in specific research areas.

Recent Faculty Awards and Honors

Michael Jewett and Josh Leonard were both awarded 3M Nontenured Faculty Awards.
Michael Jewett received a Packard Fellowship in Science and Engineering.
Northwestern’s iGEM team, advised by Josh Leonard, Mike Jewett, and Keith Tyo, was awarded a gold medal (indicating significant research achievements and contributions of new synthetic biology tools to the community), and they tied for the title of Best Computational Model, at the Americas-wide regional competition. Moreover, they were selected as 1 of 25 teams to represent the Americas at the international competition at MIT in November.
Keith Tyo and Linda Broadbelt were awarded a Grand Challenge Grant from the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation.
Randy Snurr and Wes Burghardt were both elected as fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Professor John Torkelson was selected as a Charles Deering McCormick Professor of Teaching Excellence.
Eric Masanet received a “Best of 2011” paper award (one of 12 awards out of 1,500 published articles) from Environmental Science & Technology, the top-cited journal in environmental sciences.
Dr. Christopher Henry, an adjunct professor in ChBE and a researcher at Argonne National Laboratory, has been named the recipient of the Jay Bailey Young Investigator Award in Metabolic Engineering.
Northwestern University teams representing faculty and students from four schools swept the awards in the Rice Business Plan Competition this weekend -- with NuMat Technologies and ChBE’s Chris Wilmer, a member of Randy Snurr's group, winning the grand prize and three major awards worth a total of more than $874,000.
Keith Tyo and Josh Leonard were awarded prestigious grants from the Gates Foundation for research in synthetic biology.

More Faculty Awards and Honors