Faculty Honors & Awards in Chemical & Biological Engineering

Related Links

McCormick School of Engineering

McCormick Faculty Journal Covers

The Graduate School

Office of the Registrar

Contact Us

Department of
Chemical and Biological Engineering

2145 Sheridan Road
Technological Institute
Room E-136
Evanston, IL 60208-1230
Phone: 847-491-7398
Fax: 847-491-3728


Faculty Honors and Awards Archive

Dean Julio Ottino will deliver the 62nd Institute Lecture of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers.

John Torkelson was selected as the recipient of the American Society for Engineering Education Illinois/Indiana Section Outstanding Teaching Award.

Justin Notestein awarded a 3M non-tenured faculty grant.

Michael Jewett and Joshua Leonard were awarded Synthetic Biology Grants by the National Academies Keck Futures Initiative.

Chad Mirkin was elected member of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences.

Chad Mirkin was given the Einstein professorship of the Chinese Academy of Sciences.

Dan Boggs was awarded Murphy Society funds to introduce and enhance fixed bed reactor and transient heat conduction experiments in the undergraduate laboratory.

Michael Jewett is one of about 15 recipients of a Pathway to Independence Award from the NIH/National Institute of General Medicinal Sciences.

Harold Kung was invited to present the N.N. Bakhshi Lecture at the Department of Chemical Engineering at the University of Saskatchewan.

Josh Leonard was awarded Murphy Society funds to work with students on the International Genetically Engineered Machine competition, the premiere undergraduate synthetic biology competition.

Josh Leonard and Michael Jewett were invited to the National Academies Keck Futures Initiative meeting on “Synthetic Biology: Building on Nature’s Inspiration.” This invite-only conference brought together approximately 150 scientists and engineers to discuss the potential impact of synthetic biology. Participants were divided into interdisciplinary research teams to address broad questions and challenges facing the field, and to spur new research directions. The conference was highlighted in the Jan. 20, 2010 issue of Nature.

Luis Amaral was named Keck Foundation Distinguished Young Scholar in Medical Research.

Linda Broadbelt was named AAAS Fellow and Fulbright Distinguished Scholar, and given an award for McCormick Excellence.

Harold Kung was named a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

William Miller was named a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science; served as Area 15c speaker for the AIChE Food, Pharmaceutical and Bioengineering Plenary Session; and won an AIChE Food, Pharmaceutical and Bioengineering Division Service Award.

Justin Notestein was given the Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation New Faculty Award.

Julio Ottino was selected to give Reilly Lectures at the University of Notre Dame.